Touché

April 26, 2007

Some of you might not be familiar with the band Cartel, they had minor success with their song “Honestly”. Their most recent marketing ploy, basically has them recording their next album in a huge bubble. Industry insider, Bob Lefsetz recently had a field day with this. Well, now, it was the band’s turn to respond.

I can see both sides of the story. Do I think Cartel sounds any different from what they call other “popular” music? No. Same no character vocals, same bland writing with no strong choruses. And they go on to list all these bands that they have as “influences”, then why does your music not sound even remotely similar? I didn’t see relient K on your “list of bands that we love”, yet you sound strangely similar….

But maybe their new album holds some hope of a new musical direction.

The Hits That Keep On Hitting

Lately, I have been pondering what makes a hit a “hit”. Obviously being hooky is a given, but what gives it longevity? Often I hear catchy songs that I love for about a week or two, then forget forever.

I have been digging the new Fountains Of Wayne release “Traffic and Weather“, but I fear that its days in my player are numbered. It’s almost too catchy.

So I am wondering what makes me throw in my old Missing Persons albums still. Maybe it’s because of an almost total lack of good new music, but I am still mainly listening to 10-15 year old releases. I think a lot of people that really love music are in the same boat. I still pop in Coldplay’s “Parachutes” at least once a week. Lately, I have been on a Cardigans fix. I still think they are one of the best bands of the last decade. But that’s just me….

Meanwhile, In My Player:

I just got a pre-release of the new Travis album “The Boy With No Name”. I rate them right up there with Coldplay. It’s good to see some consistency writing wise. I consider them more “mood” music than anything else, something to put in when it’s raining…

I also recently picked up Silverchair’s new album “Young Modern”. Took a bit to grow on me, but it rocks just as much as “Diorama” did. I wish these guys were big in the states, cause I would love to see them live. They definitely have come a long way since “Frogstomp”.

Feist sure is blowing up on myspace and virb. I got her album, and at best she sounds a little better than Cat Power. Feist’s “My Moon, My Man” still rocks though.
Guess that’s all for now.
~bk

Leave a comment